right
Home Blogs Forums

Privacy Policy Bad credit repair forum

Members Area

Advertisements
APEX CREDIT SERVICES


Casino Navigation
Home Video Poker Blackjack Sports Betting Pool Lottery Slots Texas Hold 'em Let 'em Ride Roulette

Notices

Credit Card Discussions Discuss Fifth Third Bank in the GENERAL CREDIT REPAIR forums; I got an email Thursday, that claims to be from fifth third bank. The text of the email (which I cannot copy and paste for some reason) says: Date: Thu, ...
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2006, 10:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
trst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
Casino Cash: $311650
Unhappy Fifth Third Bank

I got an email Thursday, that claims to be from fifth third bank. The text of the email (which I cannot copy and paste for some reason) says:

Date: Thu, 23 Nov 2006 03:25:42 +0400
From: "Fifth Third Bank, 2006" <online_support_id_672.cust@53.com> Add to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
Subject: Fifth Third Bank: URGENT SECURITY NOTIFICATION FOR ALL CLIENTS [id: 479]
To: XXX@XXXX.XXX

Dear Fifth Third Bank client,

The fifth third bank technical department is performing a scheduled software upgrade to improve the quality of the banking services. By clicking on the link below, you will begin the procedure of the user details confirmation.

The link is (don't click on it!) :
Quote:
REMOVED LINK PROTECT MEMBERS QTIP
Edit so that no one makes any mistakes and clicks before reading.

These instructions are to be sent to and followed by all fifth third bank clients. We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for your cooperation.

Fifth Third Bank Technical Service.

It has the Fifth Third Bank symbol at the top and has all the FDIC info at the bottom. When I tried to highlight the email to copy and paste it, it wouldn't allow me to. So I right clicked and chose select all then copy and paste. When I tried to paste it into this thread, this is what came up:

in worshipping his piece of wood? But what is worship? thought I.

lasted till we entered my own gateway. Before we went to prepare for

asked him of some of the strange things of the preceding night, as for

to report to me, and I shall advise you, for of course I was not


How weird is that? When I tried to click on the link yahoo said it was a phishing website and recommends I don't continue to the website. Does this mean someone already has my information? What should I do about this?
trst is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2006, 10:20 PM   #2
Elite Member
 
Pale Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Republic of Texas
Posts: 2,928
Casino Cash: $381429
A lot of the real bank websites have an abuse section where you can report fraudulent emails. I get them for paypal and ebay all the time. The best tip is to never click on the link, but to go to the site directly by typing it in your browser. Also, usually if you put your mouse over the link without clicking, then look at the status bar in the bottom left of the browser it will show what site you are really going to. If you are suspicious do not click.
Pale Rider is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2006, 10:22 PM   #3
Gib
HONORED GUEST
 
Gib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 997
Casino Cash: $447920
It is a phishing scheme. As long as you didn't provide any information, you should be fine. Just forward the email to the bank.
__________________
"I wish I could say something classy and inspirational, but that just wouldn't be our style."

"Pain heals, chicks dig scars... Glory lasts for ever." -Shane Falco (Keanu Reeves) in "The Replacements"
Gib is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2006, 10:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
trst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
Casino Cash: $311650
Thanks guys. I've been really worried because I don't know much (absolutely nothing) about computer security and I was worried that by opening the email I made myself vulnerable.
trst is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2006, 11:17 PM   #5
Administrator
 
Hedwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Greater DC area
Posts: 7,300
Casino Cash: $1219535
No, only by clicking the link. If you didn't do that, you should be OK. As others have said, never just click on a link in an e-mail. Go to the site you know, or call them. Most banks and credit card companies will never ask you to give information based on an e-mail.

I get them frome e-bay and paypal and I don't even have accounts with them! I've gotten some from banks at an e-mail address that I have never given out to anyone. It's one where I forward and archive mail that I want to keep, and don't want a lot of stuff from other people coming in.
__________________
The answer is 42!!
Hedwig is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 01:01 AM   #6
Administrator
 
roybean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Okinawa
Posts: 6,995
Casino Cash: $2738800
I got an email from these folks today and I politely deleted it.
__________________
____________
"Be surprised at what people won't do and not at what they do."
roybean is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 06:02 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
trst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
Casino Cash: $311650
Sorry Qtip, I didn't think of that.

Thanks Hedwig. This email came to my school email that no one has but the school. I forward it to my Yahoo address, so thankfully Yahoo didn't allow me to continue to the site.

The text on the bottom was "whited out" my daughter has informed me. She said this is common and that is why it showed up when the document was highlighted to be copied and pasted.

I showed it to a co-worker yesterday and she said she had received something similar from BoA. She doesn't have an account with them so she didn't give information.

How sneaky they are!
trst is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 12:25 PM   #8
Administrator
 
Hedwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Greater DC area
Posts: 7,300
Casino Cash: $1219535
Yes, it's a big scam now. The general rule is to never click on a link in an e-mail, and never give information in relation to something like this.

There was one that claimed to be from the IRS, even used the logo, and it was an identity theft scam, too.
__________________
The answer is 42!!
Hedwig is offline  
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
Advertisement System V2.6 By   Branden
Credit Repair Forum | Site content remains the intellectual property of InfiniteCredit.com and may not be duplicated or reproduced without prior consent.