Thread: What will happen if I refuse to pay my credit card?

Kevin N
    Yahoo Answers!

What will happen if I refuse to pay my credit card?

They have upped my finance charges to where I can never pay it off anyway. My minimum payment (which I now cannot afford) would only serve to pay for now huge finance charges every month. What is going to happen if I don't pay it off. I'm a college student and I own nada. I called and they won't lower it. I can't afford it and have no incentive to even attempt to pay it off since it will never end since they've increased everything. So if I just stop paying it, what can they do?

Obviously, I know I can't use the card anymore, but what else can they do?
    I know jail isn't an option for them because there is no debtor's prison in America.
    I understand that unless you have a job, debt consolidation isn't an option. I'm a full-time student and I am not dropping out of school or taking a job and trying to keep my grades up just to pay off this credit card.

SandraD
    Yahoo Answers!
    Don't pay it until you get a job. When you get a job call them back the work out a payment plan. It will stay on you credit report for ever. It could be years before you began to pay it off. You will pay much more than you owe that way. By all means pay it. Credit is very important. Everybody looks at it. You want to stay at or above 700

imaginethat_265
    Yahoo Answers!
    well it can hurt your credit and they could possibly take you to court

vegas_vixen24
    Yahoo Answers!
    If you are not going to continue using the card close it. This way you can make payment arrangements with the company to pay it off. If you keep the card open, and you don't pay it it will just keep assessing fees until they can't charge you anymore, and then it goes to collections and is on your credit report until you pay it off.

Judy
    Yahoo Answers!